Review: The Maze Runner (Maze Runner #1) by James Dashner

Veröffentlicht: 4. August 2015 in Bücher, Reviews
Schlagwörter:, , , , , ,

 

The Maze Runner by James Dashner
Part of: The Maze Runner Trilogy
Published by Chicken House
Genres: Action/Adventure, Thriller, Young Adult, Science Fiction
Pages: 384

 

 

Short Description:
If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

Remember. Survive. Run.

 

~*~ ~*~ ~*~

 

So, I was a bad kid and watched the movie before reading the book(s) and I thought I wouldn’t like it much, because someone whose opinion means a lot to me really didn’t like it… but I was wrong. Of course, it wasn’t exactly the best film ever made, but I found it to be rather entertaining and it got me curious on how the story continues.
For my birthday I got the whole trilogy and started reading it soon. As I had seen the movie, the book didn’t hold many surprises for me, but it was really nice to get to know the characters a bit more.

This book is exciting, you can feel with the characters (especially Thomas, as we live through him) and the mystery behind the maze… is intriguing. I loved reading this book and the end left me so unsatisfied, that I had to read on in book 2 immediately.

 

Recommendation: Apparently this is for fans of The Hunger Games or Divergent. I’d say it is for all those who don’t mind a little dystopian read with a scenario that is so realistically catastrophic that it could make you fear for your own life.

 

Kommentar verfassen

