Movies to come 2014 – Part III

Veröffentlicht: 30. Juni 2014 in Diskussion, Kino/Filme

Hello movie-fans!

Have you been making your list what you have to watch this year? I certainly have and I will see if I make this happen. Because I usually say I have to watch this and that and this…. and I end up watching only that, most of the time.

Here are the 2014-movies to release from July – September:

1. The Fault in our Stars


Hazel and Gus are two teenagers who share an acerbic wit, a disdain for the conventional, and a love that sweeps them on a journey. Their relationship is all the more miraculous given that Hazel’s other constant companion is an oxygen tank, Gus jokes about his prosthetic leg, and they met and fell in love at a cancer support group.
Release Date Germany: June 12th, 20141.
=> I haven’t read the book and somehow I’m not really thrilled to even try reading John Green. Anyhow, I know a couple of people that are interested in this movie and if they go see it and rate it as good… I might give it a chance and watch it when it’s out on dvd.

2. Transformers: Age of Extinction


An automobile mechanic and his daughter make a discovery that brings down the Autobots and Decepticons – and a paranoid government official – on them.
Release Date Germany: July 17th, 2014
=> I love Transformers. Now doubt will I see this movie. If I find someone who goes to the movies with me, I would actually go and see this on the big screen because the special effects are probably worth the money. I might have the chance of getting my bf to go with me…

3. How to train your Dragon 2


When Hiccup and Toothless discover an ice cave that is home to hundreds of new wild dragons and the mysterious Dragon Rider, the two friends find themselves at the center of a battle to protect the peace.
Release Date Germany: July 24th, 2014
=> Those dragons are so cute! I loved the first movie and cannot wait to see the second one, but I don’t feel the need for the big screen here because this – let’s face it – is a children’s movie and not necessarily a big screen thing. If I had a kid, I would no doubt go see it at the movies with my baby, but hey, I’m not a mom yet and this is therefore something for a nice evening on teh couch.

4. 22 Jump Street


After making their way through high school (twice), big changes are in store for officers Schmidt and Jenko when they go deep undercover at a local college.
Release Date Germany: July 31st, 2014
=> The first movie 21 Jump Street was nice, a good comedy for a nice evening at home. I hope the second one follows in its footsteps. Again, here I’d doubt that the big screen is necessary, so I will rather watch this one at home on my couch one night.

5. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes (Planet der Affen: Revolution)


A growing nation of genetically evolved apes led by Caesar is threatened by a band of human survivors of the devastating virus unleashed a decade earlier. They reach a fragile peace, but it proves short-lived, as both sides are brought to the brink of a war that will determine who will emerge as Earth’s dominant species.
Release Date Germany: August 7th, 2014
=> I have actually seen pretty much every Planet of the Apes movie so far, so I will probably watch this one too, but again… this, for me, is no movie I need to watch on the big screen (though some special effects might be awesome on a big screen). Will probably watch it, but maybe not so soon.

6. Step Up All In


All-stars from the previous Step Up installments come together in glittering Las Vegas, battling for a victory that could define their dreams and their careers.
Release Date Germany: August 7th, 2014
=> Oh yeah dance movies! I love dance movies and therefore might be in for watching this – on a day where my bf has no time to watch something with me and I’m in the mood for some dancing (read: practically always).

7. Saphireblue (Saphirblau)


Gwen has just discovered, that she’s the final member of the secret time-traveling Circle of Twelve. Now she has to juggle with constant trips to the past, her relationships with Gideon and figuring out dark secrets surrounding the Circle.
Release Date Germany: August 14th, 2014
=> This is the movie release I’ve been waiting for! I loved the books and although they had top change a couple things for the first movie, I loved it. This sequel has been something I’m looking forward to all year (actually, ever since I’ve seen the first movie). The trailer: I like. A Lot. Definitely will go to the movies to see this one. If I don’t find anyone to go with me? Don’t care, I’m even going alone.

8. Planes: Fire & Rescue


When world-famous air racer Dusty learns that his engine is damaged and he may never race again, he must shift gears and is launched into the world of aerial firefighting. Dusty joins forces with veteran fire and rescue helicopter Blade Ranger and his team, a bunch of all-terrain vehicles known as The Smokejumpers. Together, the fearless team battles a massive wildfire, and Dusty learns what it takes to become a true hero.
Release Date Germany: August 14th, 2014
=> Besides How to train your dragon THE kids movie of the year I guess. Haven’t seen the first one and I was no big fan of Cars back in the days… but if I had a little boy? I’d totally ask him if he would like to see this movie and if he wants to, I’d go.

9. The Expendables 3


Barney and his team, known as „The Expendables“, come into conflict with ruthless arms dealer Conrad Stonebanks, the Expendables‘ co-founder, who is determined to destroy the team.
Release Date Germany: August 21st, 2014
=> Shame on me, I’ve seen no Expendables movie so far. And many people say they were awesome. Maybe one day I’ll watch the first two and will then be able to watch this one, but at the moment: no.

10. Guardians of the Galaxy


In the far reaches of space, an American pilot named Peter Quill finds himself the object of a manhunt after stealing an orb coveted by the villainous Ronan.
Release Date Germany: August 28th, 2014
=> I do like space stories. But with this one I’m not sure. It looks okay, but somehow not overwhelmingly great so… will have to think about even watching this one (definitely not at the movies if I do decide to).

11. Hercules


Having endured his legendary twelve labors, Hercules, the Greek demigod, has his life as a sword-for-hire tested when the King of Thrace and his daughter seek his aid in defeating a tyrannical warlord.
Release Date Germany: September 4th, 2014
=> I like mythology and the greek mythology is awesome, but somehow I can’t see Dwayne Johnson playing this part really good. I don’t think he’ll convince me, so if I watch this one, it will be on dvd.

12. Sin City: A Dame to Kill for


The town’s most hard-boiled citizens cross paths with some of its more reviled inhabitants.
Release Date Germany: September 18th, 2014
=> Interestingly, I enjoyed the first Sin City movie. I know, it keeps surprising me too. And my brother! (who I watched the movie with) I will probably watch this one soon after it comes out. On dvd. That’s not the kinda movie I’m actually going to the movie theatre for.

 

Is the movie theatre gonna see you in July, August or September? It might see me, actually, so…. we will see if I hold true to my list.

Kommentar verfassen

