For the Series Junkie #4 – Sherlock (BBC)

Veröffentlicht: 23. Januar 2014 in For the Series Junkie, Serien
Schlagwörter:, , , , , ,

Sherlock: (the BBC Series)
In this modernized version of the Conan Doyle characters, using his detective plots, Sherlock Holmes lives in early 21st century London and acts more cocky towards Scotland Yard’s detective inspector Lestrade because he’s actually less confident. Doctor Watson is now a fairly young veteran of the Afghan war, less adoring and more active.

 

Season 1 was overwhelmingly good – in my eyes. I always loved Sherlock Holmes movies and when I heard that Steven Moffat (whom I love/hate thanks to Doctor Who) would be writing the scripts (together with Mark Gatiss, but still!) I was curious. The three episodes  introduce us to Sherlock Holmes and John Watson, how they met each other, how they ended up living together in 221 B Baker Street and how they become best friends. In addition to those two amazing characters I feel Jim Moriarty, who only comes in at the last episode, has been casted perfectly.
Season 2 was a little more bumpy and had ist flaws, mainly because Hounds of Baskerville – although featuring a beautiful change of setting – doesn’t feel quite right. It feels less detective-y and more like a future-oriented action show. Again, this is my opinion and might not be the overall fan experience 😉 But the Reichenbach Fall and most notably the whole situation with Jim Moriarty? Brilliant. Loved to experience this and walk through to the Crown Jewels with Moriarty. „Honey you should see me in a crown!“ I will never forget this line.
Season 3 started a bit boring I think, but I agree with Watson being terribly angry with Sherlock for faking his death. I would have punched him more than once. What I like about Season 3 – WARNING SPOILERS AHEAD – is the comeback of my favourite character Jim Moriarty. Of course I knew it was a possibility, yes I have read a few of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s books, but I didn’t think it beneath Moffat to NOT give him a comeback. So… happy about that.
Overall I thought Season 3 was rather boring. I found myself looking at the clock a few times in every episode (which I normally don’t do with my series).

Kommentar verfassen

