Review: Dreamless (Starcrossed #2) by Josephine Angelini

Veröffentlicht: 19. November 2013 in Bücher, Reviews
Schlagwörter:, , , , ,

 

Short description:
Tasked with descending to the underworld and killing the Furies, Helen must endure hellish torture whenever she goes to sleep – she wanders around the various levels of hell with no idea how to complete her task, and she’s beginning to suffer from extreme exhaustion. Although she still trains with the Delos clan, Helen and Lucas are coming to terms with the fact that they cannot be together. Lucas believes that the only way Helen will complete her quest is if he leaves her alone completely, so he tells her he doesn’t want to see her again and that he never loved her. Distraught, Helen carries on with her mission, and for the first time meets another person down in the shadowy underworld: Orion, descended from Adonis and with the power to control desire, he is the heir to the house of Rome and an outcast. He’s also kind of hot. Confused by her conflicting emotions but glad to have an ally in hell, Helen begins to realize the enormity of her task . . . THE SECOND BOOK IN THE BESTSELLING STARCROSSED TRILOGY

 
Book Two in the trilogy blew me away! I liked the first book, Starcrossed, a lot, but Dreamless is downright fantastic. I was excited to the prospect of free minutes so I could read. All the time. I used every few spare minutes to finally read on. It took me just a couple days to finish the book which is rather fast considering my work schedule and the usual time-out I need after work to be able to concentrate on reading. I was so eager to read Goddess that I ordered it when I wasn’t even halfway through Dreamless. Unfortunately, I ordered from amazon UK and to avoid additional shipping costs I wanted all my items to arrive at the same time… now I have to wait until the end of November to get the book. However, what is unfortunate for my eagerness to read on is fortunate for my wallet as shipping for so many „heavy“ items isn’t exactly cheap (I bought lots of books and dvds!).
Well, returning to the book I loved so much: this time around it was easier for me to pick my favourite character (and be surprised!). It is neither Helen nor Lucas, the main characters, and it is neither Hector nor Jason, the two side characters I couldn’t decide whom I like more. This time around it was so clearly Orion that I wasn’t even thinking about it twice. From his very first appearence he had me. Well done, Josephine Angelini!

My recommendation: read the trilogy!

Kommentar verfassen

